green4urhome

Welcome to my blog, I will share my ideas for saving money and making green products for your home as well as others I find. PLEASE share my blog with others! <!–

Carpet Cleaning

on November 13, 2012

HOW TO USE HYDROGEN PEROXIDE:

Mix HOT water, and liquid soap, preferably a simply biodegradable soap, such as Dr. Bronner’s.  Add enough hydrogen peroxide to make the overall solution from about 1/2% to about 2% hydrogen peroxide. For 2 gallons of water, this would be approximately 1/2 cup  to 2.5 cups of 35% hydrogen peroxide.

CAUTION!

  • In theory, hydrogen peroxide could bleach the color in the carpet, depending on the kind of dye.  This is unlikely using 3% peroxide, or lower concentrations. I have poured 3% hydrogen peroxide on carpets in my home and have not had any problems.  However, you can test on a small hidden area to be sure.
  • Use caution with 35% hydrogen peroxide.
Leave a Reply

