green4urhome

Welcome to my blog, I will share my ideas for saving money and making green products for your home as well as others I find. PLEASE share my blog with others! <!–

Original Fudge Babies

on August 26, 2012

c walnuts (120 grams)
■1 and 1/3 cups pitted dates (220 grams) (I often use SunMaid dates, which are super-soft.)
■1 tsp vanilla extract
■optional: 1/8 plus 1/16 tsp salt (I always add this.)
■3-4 tablespoons cocoa powder (or even Dutch cocoa)

Blend all the ingredients, using a food processor, Magic Bullet, etc. (No need to blend the dates first; I just blend everything all at once in a Cuisinart food processor, which works much better than a blender.) Roll into cutey-pie little balls. (Use plastic wrap if you wish, or smush it all together in a plastic bag so it’ll stay together better.) Or, if you want true brownies, shape the dough into bars!

For a crust: press the dough down firmly into a pie pan.

Version 2:

Hot Cocoa Fudge Babies

I’ve been toying around with the original recipe. Here is my newest-favorite variation:
30 grams cashews, 80 grams dates, 5 grams (1T) dark cocoa powder.
Blend. Even fudgier than the original!
(Add mint extract + cacao nibs and you’re in Wild Bar territory.
And if you leave out the cocoa powder, you have a homemade cashew cookie Larabar!)

Leave a Reply

