green4urhome

Welcome to my blog, I will share my ideas for saving money and making green products for your home as well as others I find. PLEASE share my blog with others! <!–

Lightly pickled cucumbers – no cooking

on July 9, 2012

A great snack that involves no cooking and only 2 days in the fridge to season. The flavor variations are endless. I like them because they’re quick, taste good, and my daughter taught me how to make them 🙂 All you need is:
Cucumber spears, I use either 1 English cucumber or about 6 pickling cucs. (when I tried this recipe I cut it into circles)
2 cups cold water.
1/3 cup white wine vinegar – you can change this to suit your taste, but I wouldn’t use balsamic. believe it or not, the cheaper vinegars give me the best pickling flavor.
1 tablespoon salt. Table salt or sea salt. I’ve never tried pickling salt.
2 teaspoons sugar.
5 whole peppercorns – fresh.
fresh ground pepper (from a grinder is best).
1-2 cloves garlic.
optional flavor additions: fresh dill, jalapeno pepper, onion, habanero pepper, etc.
and a container to put them in. A mason type jar works best, but I usually take the easy route and use a ziplock freezer bag. Don’t use a metal container.

From onebadpenny

Leave a Reply

